Our Scientific Advisory Board (SAB)

The board serves an important role in guiding and planning research, source funding through grants, philanthropy and when appropriate as spokespersons for our patient population. Our medical board consists of the following members:

Dr. Henry Abraham

Dr. Henry Abraham has been one of the stalwarts behind the global Hallucinogen Persisting Perception Disorder and Visual Snow Disorder campaign for many years. He has been behind HPPD research efforts for decades, mostly at his own expense. More information can be found:
Contact information:
Phone: (617) 955-9710
E-mail: http://amrglobal.powweb.com/contact

Dr. Alisa Woods

Dr. Alisa Woods is a clinical neuroscientist at Clarkson University. Information on her qualifications and work can be found here:

Contact information:
Phone: 315-268-7763
E-mail: awoods@clarkson.edu

Dr. Elena Batrakova

Dr. Elena Batrakova is a clinical neuroscientist at University of North Carolina. Dr. Batrakova’s CV can be seen here:

The main focus of Batrakova’s research is to develop a CNS delivery system for antioxidants and neuronal growth factors to attenuate neuroinflammation and produce neuroprotection in patients with neurodegenerative disorders, such as Parkinson’s and Alzheimer’s diseases. For this purpose, her group utilizes inflammatory-response cells, macrophages and monocytes that can migrate toward the inflammation site, cross the blood brain barrier, and release the preloaded drugs in the brain. To protect the therapeutic proteins against the degradation inside the host cells, the drug is incorporated in polymer-based nanocontainer. Thus, living cells can act as Trojan horses, delivering potent therapeutics across the blood brain barrier.

Some of Dr. Batrakova’s research includes:

  • Development of cell-mediated drug delivery systems to attenuate neuroinflammation and produce neuroprotection in patients with PD
  • Development of polymer-based drug delivery systems for the chemotherapy and central nervous system disorders
  • Functional studies of the blood-brain barrier and CNS drug transport
  • Inhibition of drug efflux transporters, including p-glycoprotein, multidrug resistance-associated protein, and breast cancer resistant protein
  • Development of exosomal-based drug delivery systems

Contact information:
Phone: (919) 537-3712
E-mail: batrakov@email.unc.edu

Professor Harry McConnell

Harry McConnell is a Professor of Neuropsychiatry & Neurodisability at Griffith University. Professor McConnell is the Clinical Sub Dean at Griffith University School of Medicine and Director of Neurosciences at St. Vincent’s Hospital Brisbane. He also chairs the Queensland Health working group on Neuropsychiatry and Intellectual Disability and the South East Queensland Disability Council as well as being a member of the Queensland Disability Advisory Council. He has worked in Special Education and also trained in both Neurology and Psychiatry, specialising in Epilepsy and Neurodisability with over 25 years of experience. He has published widely with many high impact publications. Professor McConnell is one of only a handful of Queensland doctors to be given International Preeminent Status in Queensland and was also awarded his Fellowship with the Australia New Zealand College of Psychiatrists on the basis of his international eminence. More information can be found:
Contact information:
Phone: (07) 567 80756
E-mail: harry.mcconnell@stvincentshospitalbrisbane.org.au